Tuesday, June 14, 2011

Tracklist Special: Indietracks Compilation 2011

Today's selections are taken from this year's Indietracks compilation, forty tracks from artists playing the festival this year, available on a pay-what-you-like basis but with the caveat that all money goes to the upkeep of the Midland Railway Trust, who keep the centre at which this most excellent of festivals takes place running year after year.

Alongside Edwyn Collins, Jeffrey Lewis (who has an unreleased demo on the album), Jonny, Suburban Kids With Biblical Names and Herman D√ľne, the Hidden Cameras are one of this year's big draws. The Mild Mannered Army is a new version of 2001's swooningly defiant The International MMA, featuring glorious strings recorded live at Shoreditch Church in 2010.

Pocketbooks have been around and none more jangly for some years on the scene, but if this first taste of second album Carousel, out later in the year, is any guide they've stepped up a gear into the sort of pastoral rheumy-eyed melancholia Camera Obscura wouldn't blanch at.

Haiku Salut are three females from the Peak District and thereabouts, all once of the Deirdres, whose DIY instrumentals with organ, percussion, loops and here accordion are Left Bank baroque meets retro-futurist. Snaffle is borrowed from How We Got Along After the Yarn Bomb, an EP out in August.

It's the indiepop unified scene that makes the festival what it is and Pete Green's been near the forefront of it for ages. His band The Sweet Nothings, making what we think is their recorded debut, provide The Day Of The Popshow, a tribute to these days of our lives.

No comments: