Thursday, April 30, 2009


We've briefly covered Projekt A-Ko before - they're Fergus Lawrie and Elaine and Ian Graham from Urusei Yatsura. What we have now is the full album Yoyodyne, on their own Milk Pie Records, and unsurprisingly it's not a million miles from the post-Dinosaur Jr/Sonic Youth melody-noise scree juxtaposition they blew their way out of Glasgow with, god, fourteen years ago. Buzzsaw pop/anti-pop hooks, Mascis-esque solos, cryptic song titles, loads and loads of pedal abuse, still very much their own band. Oh, and two acoustic laments. One with a string section. This isn't one of them.

Projekt A-Ko - Supertriste Duxelle

No comments: