Saturday, June 23, 2012

Indietracks 2012 Compilation special

In two week's time the greatest event of the year, in its own way, will be running, the sixth annual Indietracks gathering. This year's compilation harbours 50 tracks from those playing, a name your price (as long as it's at least a pound) bargain with all proceeds to Midland Railway Trust. There's tracks from people we've gone on about enough in the recent past - Allo Darlin' (an Eux Autres cover), Standard Fare, Evans The Death, This Many Boyfriends - and some other people may already be aware of too - Veronica Falls, White Town, Stevie Jackson - but may we kindly point out these...

For starters, something new from Ballboy. Four years on from their last album, for most of which time Gordon McIntyre has been preoccupied with the success of the "play with songs" he co-authored Midsummer, the tale of a newly redundant lighthouse keeper The National Trust is taken from an impending... something called Pumpkinfield Sessions.

Electrophönvintage, a duo from Toulouse plus a couple of Pocketbooks, make short but striped sunlight sounding acoustic pop songs by way of Felt and ye-ye.

Further exquisitely lovely acoustic wistfulness from our old friends The Sunbathers, Round And Round from their January, February, March, Ely, Cambridge EP.

And how about a track from Darren Hayman's next album? The bathetic Vinegar Tom is from The Violence, his long promised concept record on the 1645 witch trials, also the last part of his Essex Trilogy, and will be accompanied by an album of songs about the English Civil War.

No comments: